M

Trouver une visite

aljezur

Coast Ouest Algarve. Coûta Vicentina.

village d'Aljezur

Aljezur est a land that has distant origines and est marked par various archaeological remnants. Les gens started pour venir à ce land 7 000 years BCE.

Il y a a fleuve au centre and d'un côté stands le vieille ville, qui was s'est intensément développé au Xe siècle lorsque les Maures (Berbères) s'y sont installés pour la première fois. Le village est dominated par les ruines de a maure castle (10ème siècle), qui se trouve at au sommet de a narrow and colline pavée très escarpée. L'entrée aux ruines est gratuite and le vue du haut de la colline are spectacular. Le village lays dans la rivière valley entouré de collines.

La population de l'ensemble de la municipality est de aenviron 6000 personnes. Le plus grand villages are Aljezur and Odeceixe. Pour être honnête, les visiteurs ne se concentrent pas sur l'exploration du village, la plupart viennent profiter du nature around. Heureusement, il n'y a pas encore are tellement touristique. Maybe because transportation n'est pas développé dans la municipality.

Guide d'Aljezur
Guide d'Aljezur
Guide d'Aljezur
Guide d'Aljezur

Histoire intéressante. Comment an earthquake changed la vie d'Aljezur.

Castle of Aljezur and village around it was construit par Berbères sur a half-island entouré par la grande rivière a. Al jezur means "island" dans arabic. Ils étaient responsables des structures many dans la région, tels as le main castle, mais also pour le many names that parsemaient la toponymie de la région, as bien as les légendes vivant maintenant and mythesmong.

Pirates.

Carrapateira village locating entre deux beaches was a place, où pirates pourrait easily disembark (Pr%P4Tia doark (Pr%P4TP4TP4T) À partir de ces beaches, pirates targeted les maisons local, kidnapping many and les vendant dans slavery.

Earthquake.

Aljezur was a seaport, bien que today la rivière that was navigable pour le seagoing craft est barely a stream. Le half-island de la ville primary was détruit dans le Great Lisbonne Earthquake (and tsunami) en 1755. Rivière water est allé away at le temps.
Actually, la source de l'Earthquake was à 50 km d'Aljezur, near Sagres, elle a donc influencé l'ouest d'Algarve plus than Lisbonne area. Ce earthquake remains le plus puissant destructeur and à frapper l'Europe dans l'histoire enregistrée. Le tsunami a touché les deux – Coast and North Atlantic, reached London, was signalés dans Norway and sur le puits African Coast as. Plus asur le disaster ici.
Église and d'autres bâtiments important ont été détruits, certains remains ont été laissés du castle. Après que la plupart des part de la rivière soient allés away, les gens étaient able pour aller easily de l'autre côté and started pour y construire des maisons, that est comment le nouveau part de la village rase. Maintenant vieille ville encore located sur les collines around the castle, and the nouveau part faces sur another bank de la rivière. Le valley, qui was avant a rivière maintenant utilisé pour agriculture. Même 50 years ago la rivière was plus pleine, parfois elle was sortant de la banks and a inondé la ville, maintenant son and plus sec ne happen.
Guide d'Aljezur

Historique d'Aljezural-cultureal and environnemental circuit

Maintenant il y a a spectacular circular walk en passant par la vieille ville d'Aljezur (5,5 km de long). Sur son way, vous can visitez le musée municipal, dont l'exposition has en portugais, mais toujours intéressante. Là vous can take le map de ce route ou vérifier ici en ligne. Aussi, l'itinéraire passe par la vieille ville, quelques autres musées, église, castle, remains du vieux port. Un guide audio est available pour le walk.

Guide d'Aljezur

Expats à Aljezur area

MaMagnifique petite ville se cache dans la magnifique nature sur la coast ouest Algarve. La location de la ville elle-même est amazing. Vous can trouvez around de nombreuses superbes beaches rocheuses, appalling hautes falaises, collines verdoyantes à walk around. De petites colonies blanches surgissent ici and là-bas dans les collines.

Famous coastal trail Way de Saint-Vincent (ou Rota Vicentina en portugais) passe par Aljezur apportant pèlerins randonnée sur l'un des itinéraires.

Beaches nearby are très populairear among surfeurs. Les gens viennent ici pour amazing vues depuis les falaises and wild ocean. Coliving and surf camps are en développement.

Guide d'Aljezur
collines de l'Aljezur Area. Algarve 2020

 

Beaucoup d'étrangers viennent vivre ici organic/sustainable mode de vie, être plus proche de nature. Les hippie communauté also has son place, il y are événements and parties(pour exp. Pizza party). Expats achetant des maisons farm au milieu de nulle part, lands construisant une maison a selon leur vision, certains vivent dans des trailers.

Ils font organic agriculture, handmade de natural materials, explorent traditional crafts and spiritual practices comme, forment les éco-communautés vegan collines, qui was ruiné dans l'immense incendie regional de été 2020. Ces expats attract autres avec des opportunités de bénévolat sur leurs farms. Vous can les trouvez sur travailaway Sites Web and similar.

À mon avis, le fort mouvement expats sur costa Vicentina influence la région beneficially. Mis à part le temps corona, because de l'expats Aljezur area became home pour varous événements comme yoga, meditation, retreats, eco gatherings, prualsTlstic. Because la municipality est très rural, population portugaise ageing très fast, les jeunes leaving pour les grandes villes, de natives là are majoritairement des personnes âgées. Because of expats and région touristique en développement, lot de maisons a a obtenu une seconde vie a.

Vérifier Groupe Aljezur expats facebook pour plonger dans la communauté local.

Guide d'Aljezur

sauvage nature de beaches rocheux – COsta Vicentina

Guide d'Aljezur

Coûta Vicentina

Ce area has name Costa Vicentina (Coast de Vincent).

Il was named after le Saeinte Vincent de Saragossa, le Deacon de Spain. Poursuivi par Romans il reçut various sortes de torture : was étiré sur le rack and sa chair déchirée avec des crochets de fer. Ensuite, ses blessures ont été frottées avec salt a et il was brûlé alive, after was laissé mourir dans la prison sur le sol plein de poterie cassée. Par la légende, afterwards, son corps en morceaux was packed dans a box jeté au sea, il was watched out near cape of Saint Vincent (maintenant il named comme thamed).

Way de Saeinte Vicente

Maintenant Costa Vicentina c'est a beautiful coast plein de crazy beautiful beaches rocheux, s'étendant dans les régions d'Algarve and Alentejo. Pilgrim Walking and Cyclisme Trail de Saint-Vincent (ou Rota Vicentina en portugais) made pour découvrir Costa Vicentina.

La route always having quelques upgrades, bien marked. Il are événements de bénévolat à mark nouvelles routes and anyone can les rejoindre. La route has 3 trails différents : Historical, Fishermans (coastal) routes and circular. Il are trail variations pour bien faire du vélo as. Vous can vérifiez tout sur le site Internet.

way de saeinte vincente
Guide d'Aljezur

 Transportation

Venir à Aljezur sans a car n'est pas le choix an easy, pour aller almost anywhere on a besoin de son propre véhicule. Là are seulement quelques bus à Lisbonne and Lagos.

Beaches

Alors que all sera aches ici are magnifique, nous souhaitons recommander acular beaches nearby : Arrifana, Monte Clérigo and Bordeira.

Guide d'Aljezur
Guide d'Aljezur

Odeceixe

Ce village unique located sur les collines near l'un des plus beautiful beaches d'Europe and takes place en 7 « merveilles » de Portugal – Praia de Odeceixe. Village frontière au nord drawn par la rivière Ceixe, qui borde la frontière natural entre les régions Algarve and Alentejo. Si vous traversez le pont, vous vous retrouverez dans l'Alentejo.

Odeceixe appartient à Costa Vicentina – Vincent coast, qui va de Sagres à Alentejo and has routes all way long à walk.

Voir plus about Odeceixe ici.

Guide d'Aljezur
Guide d'Aljezur

Explorez Algarve avec nous. Pour soutenir notre travail vous can réservez des circuits and excursions sur notre site internet.

fr_FRFrench

aljezur

West coast Algarve. Costa Vicentina.

village of Aljezur

Aljezur is a land that has distant origins and is marked by various archaeological remnants. People started to come to this land 7 000 years BCE.

There is a river in the center and on one side of it stands the old town, which was intensely developed in the tenth century when the Moors (Berbers) first settled here. The village is dominated by the ruins of a Moorish castle (10th century), which sits at the top of a narrow and very steep cobbled hill. Entry to the ruins is free and the views from the top of the hill are spectacular. The village lays in the river valley surrounded by hills.

The population of the whole municipality is around 6000 people. Biggest villages are Aljezur and Odeceixe. To be honest, visitors don’t concentrate on exploring the village, most come to enjoy nature around. Luckily there are still not so much tourist yet. Maybe because transportation isn’t developed in the municipality.

Aljezur Guide
Aljezur Guide
Aljezur Guide
Aljezur Guide

Interesting history. How an earthquake changed the life of Aljezur.

Castle of Aljezur and village around it was built by Berbers on a half-island surround by a big river. Al jezur means “island” in arabic. They were responsible for many structures in the region, such as the main castle, but also for the many names that dotted the region’s toponymy, as well as the legends and myths living among people until now.

Pirates.

Carrapateira village locating between two beaches was a place, where pirates could easily disembark (Praia da Bordeira and Praia do Amado). From these beaches, pirates targeted local homes, kidnapping many and selling them into slavery.

Earthquake.

Aljezur was a seaport, though today the river that was navigable for the seagoing craft is barely a stream. The half-island of the primary town was destroyed in the Great Lisbon Earthquake (and tsunami) in 1755. River water went away at the same time.
Actually, the source of the Earthquake was 50 km from Aljezur, near Sagres, so it influenced western Algarve more than Lisbon area. This earthquake remains the most powerful and destructive to hit Europe in recorded history. The tsunami hit both – Coast and North Atlantic, reached London, was reported in Norway and on the African Coast as well. More about the disaster here.
Church and other important buildings were ruined, some remains were left from the castle. After the most part of the river went away people were able to go easily to the other side and started to build houses there, that’s how the new part of the village rase. Now old town still located on the hills around the castle, and the new part faces it on another bank of the river. The valley, which was before a river now used for agriculture. Even 50 years ago the river was fuller, sometimes it was going out of the banks and flooded the town, now its drier and don’t happen.
Aljezur Guide

Aljezur historical-cultural and environmental circuit

Now there is a spectacular circular walk going through Aljezur old town (5,5 km long). On its way, you can visit the municipal museum, which has exposition in Portuguese, but still interesting. There you can take the map of this route or check it here online. Also, the route goes through the old town, some other museums, church, castle, remains of the old port. An audio guide is available for the walk.

Aljezur Guide

Expats in Aljezur area

Magnificent little town hides in gorgeous nature on the west coast Algarve. The location of the town itself is amazing. You can find around numerous stunning rocky beaches, appalling high cliffs, green hills to walk around. Little white settlements popping here and there in the hills.

Famous coastal trail Way of St. Vincent (or Rota Vicentina in Portuguese) is going through Aljezur bringing pilgrims hiking one of the routes.

Beaches nearby are very popular among surfers. People come here for amazing views from the cliffs and wild ocean. Coliving and surfing camps are developing.

Aljezur Guide
hills of the Aljezur Area. Algarve 2020

 

Lots of foreigners come here to live organic/sustainable lifestyle, be closer to nature. The hippy community also has its place, there are events and parties(for exp. Pizza party). Expats buying farmhouses in the middle of nowhere, lands to build a house following their vision, some live in trailers.

They do organic agriculture, handmade from natural materials, explore traditional crafts and spiritual practices, form eco-communities like for example – vegan hills, which was ruined in the huge regional fire of summer 2020. These expats attract others with volunteering opportunities on their farms. You can find them on workaway and similar websites.

In my opinion, strong expats movement on costa Vicentina influences the region beneficially. Aside corona time, because of the expats Aljezur area became home for various events like yoga, meditation, retreats, eco gatherings, spiritual practices. Because the municipality is very rural, Portuguese population ageing very fast, young people leaving for bigger cities, from natives there are mostly old people. Because of expats and tourism region developing, a lot of houses got a second life.

Check Aljezur expats facebook group to dive into the local community.

Aljezur Guide

wild nature of rocky beaches – COsta Vicentina

Aljezur Guide

Costa Vicentina

This area has name Costa Vicentina (Coast of Vincent).

It was named after the Saint Vincent of Saragossa, the Deacon from Spain. Pursued by Romans he received various kinds of torture: was stretched on the rack and his flesh torn with iron hooks. Then his wounds were rubbed with salt and he was burned alive, after was left to die in the prison on the floor full of broken pottery. By the legend, afterwards, his body in pieces was packed into a box thrown to the sea, it was watched out near cape of Saint Vincent (now it named like that).

Way of Saint Vicente

Now Costa Vicentina it’s a beautiful coast full of crazy beautiful rocky beaches, stretching in Algarve and Alentejo regions. Pilgrim Walking and Cycling Trail of St. Vincent (or Rota Vicentina in Portuguese) made to discover Costa Vicentina.

The route always having some upgrades, well-marked. There are volunteering events to mark new routes and anyone can join them.  The route has 3 different trails: Historical, Fishermans (coastal) and circular routes. There are trail variations for cycling as well. You can check everything on the website.

way of saint vincente
Aljezur Guide

 Transportation

Coming to Aljezur without a car isn’t an easy choice, to go almost anywhere one needs own vehicle. There are only some busses to Lisbon and Lagos.

Beaches

While all beaches here are stunning, we want to recommend some spectacular beaches nearby: Arrifana, Monte Clérigo and Bordeira.

Aljezur Guide
Aljezur Guide

Odeceixe

This unique village located on the hills near one of the most beautiful beaches of Europe and takes place in 7 ‘wonders’ of Portugal – Praia de Odeceixe. Village border on the north drawn by river Ceixe, which lines the natural border between Algarve and Alentejo regions. If you cross the bridge  – you’ll find yourself in the Alentejo.

Odeceixe belongs to Costa Vicentina – Vincent coast, which goes from Sagres to Alentejo and has routes all way long to walk.

Check more about Odeceixe here.

Aljezur Guide
Aljezur Guide

Explore Algarve with us. To support our work you can book tours and excursions on our website.

en_USEnglish