M

Trouver une visite

tavira

Charming eastern Algarve pearl

vieille ville

Eglises, Castle, Rivière, Vieilles rues mauresques.

Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

Tavira est considéré comme a pearl de eastern Algarve avec l'ancien mauresque vieille ville, l'un des plus grands d'Algarve. Vous can walk a longtemps par ses vieilles rues. La vieille ville est divisée par une rivière en son milieu, quelques ponts relient deux parts de la ville. Usually, je profite du walk au bord de la rivière bank d'un côté pour observer l'autre en face du bank.

Il y a a small park (Jardim Public de Tavira) qui va ale long de la rivière au centre de Tavira. Dans l'été chaud day, on can catch le vert shade and relax around beautiful arbres and fleurs.

De l'autre côté de la rivière locates small green square (Jardim da Alagoa), entouré de cafes. Small island pour arrêter and relax.

Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Tavira est alégalement connu pour de nombreux des églises (il y en are aune centaine) and a medieval castle. Du walls du castle, locally connu as Castelo de Tavira, il are beautiful vues sur la ville. Un can monte les walls and les tours. L'intérieur du castle est maintenant organised en a small nice garden. Pendant le temps day, le castle can peut être visité gratuitement.
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

Ancien market de Tavira (Mercado da Ribeira), qui located sur la rivière bank, near le pont (Ponte das Forcas Amadas), qui est en reconstruction (en 2020). Dans l'ancien immeuble market located commerces and cafes.

Maintenant Tavira has a nouvelle ville market (Mercado Municipal de Tavira), où vous trouverez can légumes fraisables and fruits. Il locates a un peu plus loin du centre. L'ancien market maintenant devenu a touristique attraction, est utilisé pour les fêtes de la ville, has quelques cafes à l'intérieur des boutiques de souvenirs and.

Guide Tavira

Tavira island beach

Guide Tavira

Visiter islands est essentiel lorsque vous venez à l'eastern Algarve.

Tavira island beach has all basic prend en charge facilities, comme les toilettes restaurants and. Il y a des arbres are, qui est rare pour les islands du Ria Formosa. Arrêt du ferry Near located camping. Tavira Island Beach est définitivement différent des autres, il are beaucoup de cafes, mais pas de villages comme sur les islands near Olhao.

La plupart des ferries and boats arrivent à l'island part entourés de Ria Formosa lagoon, qui représenté par waters located entre islands and le mainland. Il are beaucoup d'oiseaux and animals, rare plants. Vous can voyez Flamingos de Ferry sur votre way depuis le centre Tavira. Ria Formosa maintenant has a status de Natural Park and est sous défense gouvernementale. Profondeur Water varies en fonction des marées, les voir changes du sea à marée haute à des dizaines de small islands à marée basse.

Guide Tavira

Comment se rendre à l'island/ferry

Son easy t take a boat ou ferry vers Tavira Island (Tavira beach) du Centre de la ville ou de "Quatro Aguas" place (has grand parking). Là are Traversier and autre cheap boats, que vous trouvez can easily au centre de Tavira near ancien market sur le bank de la rivière.

Quatro Aguas – another Ferry port, a peu far du centre – 25 minutes walk, mais ça vaut le coup. Location du port lui-même est très agréable and calls Quatro Aguas (translates as "quatre waters"). Il est entouré de water channels and Ria Formosa lagoon. Ce port est meilleur pour les personnes avec cars (parking est gratuit), as au centre de Tavira c'est hard pour trouver a parking place.

Traversier va assez souvent, usually toutes les heures half an, mais dépend du season. Ici est calendrier Tarifs and du ferry depuis le centre Tavira en octobre 2020. Consultez les nouveaux horaires du ferry sur le Facebook page. Le billet aller-retour coûte 2,20 euros pour adult and 1 euro pour a enfant. Le trajet avec ce ferry durera take around 15 minutes.

Il y a are ferry boats, qui va d'abord du centre and after par Quatro Aguas au Tavira island beach.

Là are also private boats, visites, taxis all around Tavira. Le niveau de confort de ces companies est plus élevé, mais also la proposition est plus chère. Usually, prix are max bas, as il y a a grande compétence and Portugais salaries are comparatively small.

Guide Tavira

autres beaches and destinations around Tavira

Cabanas de Tavira, Santa Luzia, Barril beach.

Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

Village Santa Luzia

Nearby Tavira il y a a village touristique Santa Luzia. Dans past, il was a fisherman règlement sur le front de Ria Formosa Lagoon. Maintenant sur le bank, vous can walk a joli bois way path, entouré de a lot de cafes and boat tours companies avec propositions various.

Les cheapest way se rendre au beach depuis Santa Luzia est par a ferry boat à Tavira Island Terra Estreita beach. Le coût est de around 2 euros pour l'aller-retour. Consulter l'horaire ici, bien que small changes are possible.

Ce beach has structure moins infra, mais as beautiful. Les 150 premiers mètres du beach can sont pleins de monde à season, mais si vous continuez à alk, vous vous retrouverez alone sur le beach.

Santa Luzia village locates moins than 3 km à l'ouest de Tavira. Vous y can walk dans around à 40 minutes du centre de Tavira.

Guide Tavira

Baril Beach

1,5km plus à l'ouest par Ria Formosa bank de Santa Lucia located Pont a, qui leads à Baril Beach (Praia faire Baril). Tu pas besoin de take a boat, because il y a a joli pont, after que vous can take a small touristique train au beach ou walk 15 minutes à travers l'island. Barril beach also locates sur Tavira island and walking along le rivage ocean vous can accédez à d'autres beaches de l'island. Cependant, c'est a long walk dans le sand.

Il y a an intéressant attraction sur le Barril beach – 1TP4Cimetière de Tnchors. Des ancres ont été utilisées pour les filets catching de large and puissant Bluefin Tuna. Today cimetière de anchors est a memorial symbolique au déclin du tuna and le abandonment de ce way de vie. Il n'y a pas de anymore Bluefin Tuna dans les sea de l'Algarve.

Le beach est safe pour les enfants, avec calm and clean waters, and est surveillé pendant l'été season. Il y a are a beaucoup de cafes, quelques boutiques.

Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

Cabanas de Tavira.

Le village loca a parcouru 6 km jusqu'au east depuis Tavira. Le train station est a un peu far du village marina, il vaut donc mieux venir autobus, car ou taxi. Il y a also a trail à vélo ou walk de Tavira à Cabanas, par "Salinas- Ciclova de Tavira“.

Cabanas village avec la population a un peu plus than 1 milleand personnes became a site touristique avec hôtels, boat companies and1 RiTP4TP4T la plupart des caPfe Cabanas rappelle Santa Luzia village mais has hôtels de luxe. Vous can trouvez ici les types all d'excursions boat, les visites de groupe and private yacht les manèges.

En face de la village locates Cabanas island, a voisin de Tavira island. Island est assez long, around 6 km, clean, avec beautiful bleu water and a beaucoup de space. Cabanas island beach est très easy pour reach par ferry ou aqua taxi. Vous can commandez an aqua-taxi sur notre site Internet.

Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

travelling à and à partir de Tavira

Comment se rendre à Tavira ??

 

(cliquez sur le texte bleu pour obtenir plus d'informations)

  • Former va de Vila Real de Santo Antonio, Faro ou encore straight de Lagos. Consulter l'horaire ici. Tavira has 2 train stations Tavira and Porta Nova, tous deux également proches du centre.
  • Autobus. Vérifier Bus Eva company pour les bus around Algarve. Il y a are also companies comme Alsa et Rede Expressos, qui va plus loin, par example vers Séville ou Lisbonne.
Guide Tavira
Guide Tavira

Déclenchements Day depuis Tavira :

 

  • Olhao.  Ville has le port de pêche largest dans l'Algarve and il est largement connu as le « Capital de Ria Formosa ». Olhao has a ferry à 3 amazing islands avec villages là : Armona, Culatra, Farol.
  • Fuseta. Authentique village avec easy access à l'islands. Un petit village blanc cubique Fuseta, located entre Olhao and Tavira. Descente au sea par traditional and maisons neuves. C'est easy de relax and être caught dans a calm atmosphere. Fuseta situated sur le bank de Ria Formosa, as nearby ville Olhao, mais ici les choses are différent. En plein ville, il y a a beach avec sand and bleu toujours water. Fuseta est quelque chose de special en termes de waterfront. Usually, Ria Formosa nous rencontre avec des waters sauvages, dont are n'est pas bon pour la natation. Mais ici le coast est excellent pour have classic beach temps and pour faire du sport water. Fuseta have 2 train stations : Fuseta and Fuseta-A. Les deux are très near le centre village.
  • Faro – le capital de Algarve. Environ 30 min sur le train away. En temps day hormis la visite de la vieille ville and castle, c'est also sympa de walk sur le devant du Ria Formosa, qui n'est pas always très organised, mais beautiful. Un can entrer marina at le train ou bus station, after dans le tout nouveau centre où locates Faro port avec yachts and near ancien caslltle was. Au port ou dans le same castle walls c'est agréable de catch a ferry ou boat tournée à nearby islands ou juste pour voir Ria Formosa, son nature, aynd même aller à m1TP.
  • Vila Real de Santo Antonio – Ville à la frontière avec Spain, où vous can take le ferry à travers la rivière and être dans Spain en 15 minutes. Has a nice beach and pleasant nature reserve near it. Vila Real est la ville la plus au sud-ouest du Portugalal. D'un côté se trouve l'ocean, de another est a large rivière, qui makes a natural frontière avec Spain.
fr_FRFrench

M

Find a Tour

tavira

Charming eastern Algarve pearl

old town

Churches, Castle, River, Moorish old streets.

Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

Tavira is considered a pearl of eastern Algarve with Ancient moorish old town, one of the biggest in Algarve. You can walk a long time by its old streets. Old town is divided by river in its middle, few bridges connect two parts of the town. Usually, I enjoy the walk by the river bank from one side to observe the other opposite bank.

There is a small park (Jardim Público de Tavira) which goes along the river in the centre of Tavira. In the hot summer day, one can catch the green shade and relax around beautiful trees and flouwers.

On the other side ofthe river locates small green square (Jardim da Alagoa), surrounded by cafes. Small island to stop and relax.

Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira is also known for numerous churches (there are around hundred of them) and a medieval castle. From the walls of the castle, locally known as Castelo de Tavira, there are beautiful views on the town. One can climb the walls and the towers. The castle interior is now organised into a small nice garden. During the day time, the castle can be visited for free.
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

Old market of Tavira (Mercado da Ribeira), which located on the river bank, near the bridge (Ponte das Forcas Amadas), which is on the reconstruction (in 2020). In the old market building located shops and cafes.

Now Tavira has a new town market (Mercado Municipal de Tavira), where you can find fresh vegetables and fruits. It locates a little bit further from the center. The old market now became a tourist attraction, is used for town fests, has few cafes inside and souvenir shops.

Tavira Guide

Tavira island beach

Tavira Guide

Visiting islands is essential when you come to the eastern Algarve.

Tavira island beach has all basic support facilities, like restaurants and toilets. There are trees, which is rare for the islands of the Ria Formosa. Near ferry stop located camping. Tavira Island Beach is definitely different from others, there are lots of cafes, but no villages like on the islands near Olhao.

Most of ferries and boats come to the island part surrounded by Ria Formosa lagoon, which represented by waters located between islands and the mainland. There are lots of birds and animals, rare plants. You can see Flamingos from Ferry on your way from the Tavira center. Ria Formosa now has a status of Natural Park and is under government defence. Water deepness varies dependently on tides, the view changes from the sea in high tide to dozens of small islands in low tide.

Tavira Guide

How to get to the island/ferry

Its easy t take a boat or ferry to Tavira Island (Tavira beach) from Center of the town or from “Quatro Aguas” place (has big parking). There are Ferry and other cheap boats, which you can easily find in the center of Tavira near old market on the bank of the river.

Quatro Aguas – another Ferry port, a little bit far from the center – 25 minutes walk, but worth it. Location of the port itself is very nice and calls Quatro Aguas (translates as “four waters”). Its surrounded by water channels and Ria Formosa lagoon. This port is better for people with cars (parking is free), as in the center of Tavira it’s hard to find a parking place.

Ferry goes quite often, usually every half an hour, but depends on the season. Here is schedule and prices for the ferry from Tavira center in October 2020. Check new schedules of the ferry on the Facebook page.  Round trip ticket costs 2,20 euro for adult and 1 euro for a child. The trip with this ferry will take around 15 minutes.

There are ferry boats, which go first from the center and after through Quatro Aguas to the Tavira island beach.

There are also private boats, tours, taxis all around Tavira. Level of the comfort of those companies is higher, but also the proposition is more expensive. Usually, prices are max low, as there is a big competency and Portuguese salaries are comparatively small.

Tavira Guide

other beaches and destinations around Tavira

Cabanas de Tavira, Santa Luzia, Barril beach.

Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

Village Santa Luzia

Nearby Tavira there is a touristy village Santa Luzia. In past, it was a fisherman settlement on the front of Ria Formosa Lagoon. Now on the bank, you can walk a nice wooden way path, surrounded by a lot of cafes and boat tours companies with various propositions.

The cheapest way to get to the beach from Santa Luzia is by a ferry boat to Tavira Island Terra Estreita beach. Cost is around 2 euros for the round trip. Check the schedule here, though small changes are possible.

This beach has less infrastructure, but as beautiful. First 150 meters of the beach can be full of people in season, but if you walk further you’ll find yourself alone on the beach.

Santa Luzia village locates less than 3 km western of Tavira. You can walk there in around 40minutes from the center of Tavira.

Tavira Guide

Barril Beach

1,5km further west by Ria Formosa bank from Santa Lucia located a bridge, which leads to Barril Beach (Praia do Barril). You don’t need to take a boat, because there is a nice bridge, after which you can take a small touristy train to the beach or walk 15 minutes through the island. Barril beach also locates on Tavira island and walking along the ocean shoreline you can get to other beaches of the island. Though, it’s a long walk in the sand.

There is an interesting attraction on the Barril beach – anchors cemetery. Anchors were used for catching nets of large and powerful Bluefin Tuna. Today cemetery of anchors is a symbolic memorial to the decline of the tuna and the abandonment of this way of life. There is no anymore Bluefin Tuna in the seas of the Algarve.

The beach is safe for children, with calm and clean waters, and is supervised during the summer season. There are a lot of cafes, some shops.

Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

Cabanas de Tavira.

The village located 6 km to the east from Tavira. The train station is a little bit far from the village marina, so it’s better to come by bus, car or taxi. There is also a trail to bike or walk from Tavira to Cabanas, through “Salinas- Ciclovia de Tavira“.

Cabanas village with the population a little bit more than 1 thousand people became a touristic spot with hotels, boat companies and a lot of cafes facing the Ria Formosa Nature Park. Cabanas reminds Santa Luzia village but has luxury hotels. You can find all kinds of boat excursions here, group tours and private yacht rides.

Opposite the village locates Cabanas island, a neighbour of Tavira island. Island is quite long, around 6 km, clean, with beautiful blue water and a lot of space. Cabanas island beach is very easy to reach by ferry or aqua taxi. You can order an aqua-taxi on our website.

Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

travelling to and from Tavira

How to get to Tavira??

 

(click on blue text to get more info)

  • Train goes from Vila Real de Santo Antonio, Faro or even straight from Lagos. Check the schedule here. Tavira has 2 train stations Tavira and Porta Nova, both equaly close to the center.
  • Bus. Check Eva Bus company for busses around Algarve. There are also companies like Alsa and Rede Expressos, which going further, for example to Seville or Lisbon.
Tavira Guide
Tavira Guide

Day trips from Tavira:

 

  • Olhao.  Town has the largest fishing port in the Algarve and it’s widely known as the “Capital of Ria Formosa”.  Olhao has a ferry to 3 amazing islands with villages there: Armona, Culatra, Farol.
  • Fuseta. Authentic village with easy access to the islands. A little cubic white village Fuseta, located between Olhao and Tavira. Going down to the sea by traditional and new houses. It’s easy to relax and be caught in a calm atmosphere. Fuseta situated on the bank of Ria Formosa, as nearby town Olhao, but here things are different. Right in the town, there is a beach with sand and blue still water. Fuseta is something special in terms of waterfront. Usually, Ria Formosa meets us with wild waters, which are not good for swimming. But here the coast is excellent to have classic beach time and to do water sports. Fuseta have 2 train stations: Fuseta and Fuseta-A. Both are very near the village center.
  • Faro – the capital of Algarve. Around 30 min on the train away. In day time except visiting the old town and castle, it’s also nice to walk on the front of the Ria Formosa, which isn’t always very organised, but beautiful. One can enter marina at the train or bus station, after in the very new center where locates Faro port with yachts and near old castle walls. In port or in the same castle walls its nice to catch a ferry or boat tour to nearby islands or just to see Ria Formosa, its nature, and maybe even go to the ocean.
  • Vila Real de Santo Antonio – Town on the border with Spain, where you can take the ferry through the river and be in Spain in 15 minutes. Has a nice beach and pleasant nature reserve near it. Vila Real is the most southwestern town of Portugal. From one side of it is the ocean, from another is a wide river, which makes a natural border with Spain.
en_USEnglish